Pumpkinsauce, lollipops and more - Reisverslag uit Conakry, Guinea van Iris Fransen - WaarBenJij.nu Pumpkinsauce, lollipops and more - Reisverslag uit Conakry, Guinea van Iris Fransen - WaarBenJij.nu

Pumpkinsauce, lollipops and more

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Iris

21 Juli 2014 | Guinea, Conakry

The past week has been quite busy. I could write a book about the children at the Center, or my taxi adventures. But because I don't have time to do that, I'll be brief.
I'll start with the children. In the past week, I spent every afternoon with Daniel and Moïse. They love it! They are happy when they see me, and it makes me so happy to see their little faces light up when they see me!
There are a lot of things that make me happy here, like when little Charles wraps his arms around me and clings to me, or when one of the children runs towards me and calls me mama (or papa, that happens). On the other hand, those things make me sad too. I wish all the children had a mum and dad, so they would know the difference, and wouldn't need me.

Fortunately, there are also things that make me happy that are just fun. This morning, I went to Martha's church and she invited me to her house after the service. We had a lot of fun, and I have enjoyed the most delicious rice with pumpkinsauce that was ever made. I am so happy to be back in Conakry, and I feel so privileged! I can meet friends I thought I would never see again, and I can apply the things I learned at university in a place where its really helpful.

On Friday, I went to the Center in the morning instead of the afternoon, to sort clothes that were donated to the Center. The kids were all watching, and of course they were very interested. After the sorting, we had a little fashion show and each child got new clothes. It was a blast! The lollipops the children got as a morning snack, increased the fun, but also the stickiness! At one point, I caught one of the kids with a very content face while he was putting his lollipop in my camera case. Thanks Charles!
The barber came to shave the boys heads while we were sorting clothes. Unfortunately that was not appreciated by everyone, but of course the barber is really scary when you're two!

That's all for this time, in my next blog I'll probably talk about how I'm slowly turning into a Canadian, but as this is a slow process, I can't say much about it yet.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Iris

Actief sinds 24 Juni 2012
Verslag gelezen: 1239
Totaal aantal bezoekers 81015

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Juli 2014 - 27 Augustus 2014

Guinee 2.0

08 Augustus 2012 - 14 Juni 2013

Mijn reis met Mercy Ships

Landen bezocht: